New Millennium

New Millennium Writings is pleased to present the Winner of the
Special Writing Competition on Obama

Congratulations to Naomi Ruth Lowinsky of Pleasant Hill, CA, who has won the $1,000 Award for her poem "Madelyn Dunham, Passing On."

Three writers were awarded $100 awards. Suellen Wedmore of Rockport, MA, won for her poem, "Because," a lyrical catalogue of events and forces that contributed to Obama's victory. Sarah Miller of Somerville, MA, won for her essay, "By Contrast," which compared the previous administration to a New England winter. Frances Payne Adler of Portland, OR, won for "In the White House," a joyful imagining of the first hours of occupancy of the White House by the Obama family.

The winning works will appear in the next issue of NMW, due out in November, and online at this website.

Honorable Mentions in the Obama Millennium Competition, in alphabetical order, were as follows.

Craig Barnes, Santa Fe, NM
Tricia Coscia, Morrisville, PA
Deborah Cooper, Duluth, MN
Darlene Dauphin, Missouri City, TX
Terry Ehret, Petaluma, CA
Paula Friedman, Parkdale, OR
N. R. Gair, Newton, MA
Darryl Halbrooks, Richmond, KY
Maryanne Hannan, Delmar, NY
F. Gerald Jefferson, Cleveland, TN
Langston Kerman, Ann Arbor, MI
Ann Killough, Brookline, MA
Andrew Lam, San Francisco, CA
Herbert Lowrey, Washington, DC
Barbara March, Cedarville, CA
SheLa Morrison, Gabriola Is., BC
Kathleen Records, Boulder, CO
Garrett Rowlan, Los Angeles, CA
Jesse Tangen-Mills, Bogota, COL
Diana Whitney, Brattleboro, VT

For information on the current writing competition, view the New Award Guidelines.

NMW Home Page